Nostalgia for England part three


Garden Propaganda

One Saturday I rented a car and drove south with some student friends to visit two of Englands most celebrated gardens.  Our first stop was Sissinghurst Castle Garden in Kent.  Sissinghurst was the home of writer Vita Sackville-West. I had written a paper on Vita for my history of landscape design class so I was really looking forward to seeing this garden.  She sounded like quite a character always running around having affairs with both men and women.

Another interesting character was Christopher Lloyd whose garden is Great Dixter.  When I first started gardening his books were some of my favorites because he was so opinionated.  If a plant sucked he wasn’t afraid to say so and he loved bold color combinations that more genteel designers stayed away from.  He passed away in 2006 so I feel very fortunate that I got to meet him while I was shopping in…

View original post 58 more words

Leave some thoughts or comments:

